There ought to be a law!

Can someone please explain to me why the pimple-ridden teenage cashier at Dominick’s cannot drag my bottle of whiskey across the scanner at the checkout? I understand that minors are not allowed to sell alcohol, but the cashier is not the one selling it to me. The store is. There is no reason I have ever been given that adequately explains the reason why my checkout process has to come to a screeching halt while we wait for the sixty-something cashier down a few lanes to put her whole line on hold, walk over, punch in some numbers, swipe the bottle, check my ID, punch in more numbers and then give the whole show back to the teenager. It doesn’s make a damn bit of sense. I am still giving the cash or payment to a minor…just because he or she did not scan the bottle makes a damn bit of difference? I think not.

There needs to be a goddamn reform in this stupid law, or some forward thinking store has to keep the fucking kids stocking shelves and pushing carts and let the goddamn adults run the checkouts. Everyone in line hates it when the cashier starts calling out “21!” I try to pick out cashiers that are of-age, but sometimes there is only 1 or 2 lines open and neither of them are old enough. It is dumb and needs to be rethought.

After all of this frustration, though, at least I was able to pick up a bottle of Woodford Reserve on mega clearance for $15.99. Frustration aside, it will be all worth it tonight when I crack that puppy open after work and put it on some ice.

About Anthony

Husband of one, father of one. Two cats, one dog, a bike, and some fishing poles. I do nothing well.
This entry was posted in Food & Drink, Life Happens, Ramblin' Man. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

