06-14-07 Links & Tees…a lesson in mediocrity.

Links & Tees is a nine hole par 3 course on Lake Street in Addison. It is picturesque and plays as tough as you make it on yourself. The layout is nice, there is a lot of water, sand and super-thick rough. Postage stamp greens that are fairly fast and flat. In all honesty, there is no reason to not shoot in the thirties here every time, yet only one of our threesome would earn that distinction today.

I arrived at the course about 15 minutes before my Dad and Alex. It is an Addison Park District facility that includes miniature golf, a driving range and golf dome in addition to the executive course. I spent my extra time on the practice green getting a feel for my chipping and the speed of the greens. After my partner’s arrived, we headed out and I was very confident going into the first hole. Not just because I was coming off of a very solid round at Rolling Knolls last week, but my practice putts and lags were spot on after switching back to my Wilson putter from the old Billy Baroo.

Alex lead off and went far and right of the green. 122 is normally a strong pitching wedge for me, but I decided to go with a soft 9 iron, because it was really really hot and I wanted to pace myself.

Well…my tee shot went about 20 yards.

It didn’t make it to the fairway.

Second shot was another duff, on the fairway but short of the green.

Chipped on and had a long putt, which I crushed and cruised 10 feet past the hole.

It’s too hot today.

Dad notched a nice par after bumping and running up to within 5 feet. It would not be his only excellent approach shot this day.

dad-sand.jpg
Dad playing out of the gigantic, forward greenside bunker on the 4th hole. The ball flight looks good in this shot, but it did not make it up and he had to play his next shot from the rough.

Alex started off his round bogey, bogey, double, and it was all down hill from there. Not sure if it was the heat or his odd, checkered shorts, but he just did not have it today. Kept us entertained as usual, though. When Alex is bad…he is spectacularly bad. The kind of bad that you cannot believe…you know…the same kind of bad I have described myself as being in my other outings. When he is on tilt, though, he makes it fun to be out there. Always a stitch to hit the links with the self-proclaimed God of Golf.

Dad, on the other hand, was on point. Every approach was within 10 feet, most of them closer to 5 or 6. The only problem he had today was that he seemingly forgot what to do once the ball came to rest on the green near the hole. He may as well have been putting with a lacrosse stick. Take 6 or 7 strokes off his final score and that is what he should have shot. On the 7th hole, he put it within 6 feet off the tee and ended up three putting. I think he has finally taken to heart my suggestion to switch from that ridiculous bankroll putter he has, though, and once he rights his putting stroke, he will be very hard to beat.

Me…I was sketchy in every aspect of my game. Off the tee, on the green, near the green…everything. Biggest problem for me was my putting and my distance judgment and club choice, though. Some of the holes look and/or feel longer or shorter than they read. All in all, though, I recovered well and minimized the damage, but sheer stupidity cost me at least as many strokes as my Dad’s putting cost him. After a decent tee shot on 9, I chipped up within 4 feet and proceeded to drag my putter on the par putt, resulting in a tap in for bogey, wasting my only opportunity at a proper par all day.

The course was wide open and we got it done in about an hour and a half, taking our time and moving slow because of the heat. This was the first time I have played there this season and only the 2nd or 3rd time to play there ever. It is a nice way to spend an hour or so, and at only $12 it is worth the price.

links-9th.jpg
Why hello 9th hole at Links & Tees. Mighty fine gigantic bunker you have there.

Plenty of hazards, challenging rough and an overall nice look and feel make the Links & Tees a nice place to get some work on your short game. My major quibble is that the bunkers, although large and intimidating, are fairly hard and do not play like they should. Were they to dump another half inch of soft beach sand on top of the hard stuff…then that would be a tough go.

Have a go at this scorecard. GG Alex!!!!

Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out
Yardage 122 158 82 186 117 125 129 96 146 1161
Par 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 27
Alex 4 4 5 7 6 7 7 10 10 60
Dad 3 5 4 5 4 3 4 6 4 38
Me 5 4 4 6 5 5 4 4 4 41
About Anthony

Husband of one, father of one. Two cats, one dog, a bike, and some fishing poles. I do nothing well.
This entry was posted in FORE!. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 06-14-07 Links & Tees…a lesson in mediocrity.

  1. Your Brother says:

    In the words of Nathan Explosion: Brutal!

  2. GoGolfer says:

    Hello Everyone,

    I am a golfer myself and I like to play whenever I get a chance.
    A short while ago, a very good friend of mine told me about a great golfing equipment and accessories website that has discounted prices on all their products, same day shipping in most cases and there is no state sales tax, they are paying that.
    So if any golfer here is ready to save some money on quality products at highly discounted prices, you might want to check out their site at; http://hoffmangolf.com

Leave a Reply

