Why not?

Why not revive this blog that I, apparently, started in 2007, and have been neglecting ever since?

Seems as though my last post was in summer of aught-nine, which is over two years ago. Both a lot and a whole lot of nothing has happened in that time, and rather than hurt myself trying to recall anything of interest that has occurred in that time, I’ll just skip straight forward to the contemporary banality I am calling life these days, and then maybe touch upon the things you can possibly expect on here if I ever actually start posting here again on a semi-consistent basis.

WHAT’S NEW

Well, I have a proper job. Not a “career,” of course, but a job that provides me with exciting new things like direct deposit, health insurance, lunch breaks and, someday, a 401k. 8-5, M-F. Lifting heavy boxes full of sharp screws which often puncture the box and, consequently, my skin. Driving a forklift. Loading trucks. Unloading containers. Filling out bills of lading. Really exciting stuff. Not making a fortune, but the checks don’t bounce and it is 10 minutes from home, so, I’m happy.

An unexpected side effect of said job is, I have suddenly started reading. A lot. In the 8 months I have worked this job, I have finished perhaps a dozen books, give or take one or two. For me, that is an absurd number. Most startling is that, the overwhelming majority of those books are fiction, something I never previously read much of. So, expect some talk about what I am reading. I just finished Mieville’s The City & The City, which I enjoyed, and I am waiting for my library to acquire copies of  Haruki Murakami’s 1Q84 and Ernest Cline’s Ready Player One for me, because, I am now the kind of guy who requests my library bring in books they don’t have in-house from other libraries.

Fishing is also something that has consumed as much time as I can possibly throw at it. My dad took the brothers and me on fishing trips when we were kids, but in the past year I have developed what is slowly becoming a smoldering obsession for it. So much so that, yeah, even though it is the middle of January, I am probably going to wake up about an hour earlier than I need to tomorrow so I can go to the Fox River before work to see if any crappies or smallmouths are milling about, trying to find an easy meal in this unseasonable January warmth (38 degrees and raining as of this writing). In truth, the idea the spurned me on to revisit blogging is the hopes of posting a lot of fishing stuff. Preferably, I would like to start doing some video content, but there are quite a few hurdles to get past before that happens, and I am QWOP when it comes to hurdles.

Wife and I finally got smart phones, so, expect some Android thoughts…which is an incredibly sexy topic, I know.

The kiddo…she is going to be 5 years old in a month and she continues to amaze and delight me every day, although my time with her is lamentably brief (did I mention I am still working a night job 3 nights a week?). She is in preschool. She is smart as a whip and is beginning to not only show interests in music and art, but she can already paint, draw and sing better than I could ever hope to, so that is quite exciting.

My dad has season tickets to the Elgin Symphony Orchestra, and I have been attending as many concerts with him as possible. Aside from getting to spend quality time with my dad, going to these concerts have woken up the part of my brain that loved orchestral music when I was exposed to by my dad when I was a kid, but then was beaten into submission by terrible emo and metalcore when I was a pubescent imbecile. The ESO is spending the next couple seasons searching for someone to fill their now vacant music director/conductor position, and I’ve already seen a few stellar guest conductors they have brought in for this season.

Board gaming is something that I have grown quite fond of, although getting a group of people together to play the games I like playing is proving to be more and more difficult these days. I will most certainly be posting about said games and game nights, though, in the hopes that I can regenerate some interest amongst my friends on the subject.

My knees are getting worse. We are using the same piece of shit Ikea mattress that we had long before I ever started this blog and it is destroying our backs. I am still using a laptop with Windows Vista and I hate it more and more each day. The Saturn Ion is dead and now we have a Mitsubishi Galant. Beyond that, I don’t know. As I said, a lot of nothing. If you know me, though, you know I can spend an hour punching out 800 words about nothing as long as I am 1) nude and 2) listening to Steve Reich.

 

OH P.S. I am too lazy to go through and vet all my old posts. I am going to just leave them there, but I would strongly suggest never reading them ever.

About Anthony

Husband of one, father of one. Two cats, one dog, a bike, and some fishing poles. I do nothing well.
This entry was posted in Blorg & Interweb. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

