Fishin’ With CB

The internet and me…we have an odd relationship. I will forgo the “WebTV genesis” of my internet life and just quickly come to the point that I have made a lot of friends over the internet, many of whom I have become close friends with IRL, not just via Twitter and/or messageboards.

Last night, I had the pleasure to meet and fish with someone whom I befriended on the internet. Chris Beckstrom, the man behind CB Fishes, shared with me his secret pond (a honeyhole so hole-like I actually drove right by it and had to turn around). We shared some conversation, we caught some bass and had a nice little time.

And, just now, as I hopped over to his blog to copy the link to insert it in the intro above, I noticed he has already written much of what I was going to write. And since I forgot to upload the pictures I took to WordPress and/or Dropbox last night and can’t access them from work, I will just drop another link to his post here so you can see the photographic evidence and read his much more measured, considered words.

It is obvious that the same time and effort Chris puts into his blog also goes into fishing, too. We talked about our experiences learning the ropes, the evolution of our attitudes, approaches and theories in this relatively short time we have been serious about the sport.

Most importantly for me, though, was seeing Chris catch fish on one of his homemade crankbaits. I started carving baits out of scrap pine I found laying at work, but aside from giving one a bitching firetiger paint job, I have yet to get one in the water. Witnessing his lures being taken by nice pond bass is enough motivation for me to get off my ass and not only get my baits wet, but get cracking on some new designs.

All in all, it was really cool to meet another internet friend in person. Being able to chat online and meeting up to fish removes a the huge, awkward “introduction” conversation barrier which has always prevented me from making friends the way most people do. Even though it was the first time I was able to shake his hand, we were able to launch right into conversations like we had known each other a long time.

Thanks for showing off your secret spot, CB. I will keep it under wraps. Hope we can fish it again soon…maybe with one of my homemade cranks.

Seems like it is going to be another slow day at work…where’d I leave that boxcutter I’ve been whittling with…

About Anthony

Husband of one, father of one. Two cats, one dog, a bike, and some fishing poles. I do nothing well.
This entry was posted in Blorg & Interweb, Fishing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

